Supported by the National Science Foundation, Grant No. 1142510, IIS, Human Centered Computing.
About News Projects Contact Join the listserve


You are here: Home > About > People


Network Formative Partners

Maribeth Back
Senior Research Scientist; Project leader, Mixed and Immersive Realities Group;
Project leader, Industrial Collaborative Environments (ICE) Team; FX Palo Alto

Anne Balsamo
Dean of the School of Media Studies, Professor of Media Studies, The New School for Public Engagement, New York; Executive Board Member, HASTAC

Shaowen Bardzell
Assistant Professor, Human-Computer Interaction Design; Kinsey Institute for Research in Sex, Gender, and Reproduction; Indiana University, Bloomington

Jonah Bokaer
Choreographer, Media Artist, Social Entrepreneur

Sheldon Brown
Professor of Visual Arts; Director of the Arthur C. Clarke Center for Human Imagination; Founder, New Media Arts for the California Institute of Telecommunications and Information Technologies (Calit2); University of California, San Diego

Leah Buechley
Assistant Professor, MIT Media Lab; Director, High-Low Tech research group

Daragh Byrne
XSEAD Developer/Designer; Carnegie Mellon University

Donna Cox
XSEAD Co-PI; Michael Aiken Endowed Chair; Director, eDREAM Institute; Steering Committee, Director, Advanced Scientific Visualization Laboratory; University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign

Milton Curry
Associate Professor of Architecture, Associate Dean, Director of Post-Professional Degrees, Taubman College

Barbara Cutler
Associate Professor, Department of Computer Science; Affiliated Faculty, Curtis R. Priem Experimental Media and Performing Arts Center (EMPAC); Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Alicia Gibb
Research and Development Lab Director, BugLabs, New York; Entrepreneur

Tracy Hammond
Director, Sketch Recognition Lab; Professor, Department of Computer Science and Engineering; Texas A&M University

Pamela L. Jennings
Former NSF SEAD/XSEAD PD; Director of the Brenda and Earl Shapiro Centers for Research and Collaboration; School of the Art Institute of Chicago; now Director, Center for Design Innovation, University of North Carolina system

JoAnn Kuchera-Morin
Director, Allosphere Research Laboratory, California Nanosystems Institute; Professor, Media Arts and Technology and Music; Director, Center for Research in Electronic Art Technology, University of California, Santa Barbara

Carol LaFayette
SEAD PI; Director, Institute for Applied Creativity; Professor, Department of Visualization, Texas A&M University

Roger Malina
Leonardo/ISAST Chair Emeritus, Leonardo Governing Board Member. Distinguished Professor of Art and Technology at the University of Texas, Dallas

Katherine Moriwaki
Assistant Professor of Media Design; School of Art, Media and Technology; Parsons the New School for Design

Gunalan Nadarajan
SEAD Co-PI; Dean & Professor, School of Art and Design, University of Michigan

Sabrina Raff
Associate Professor, School of Art and Design, University of Illinois, Chicago

Thanassis Rikakis
XSEAD PI; Vice Provost for Design, Arts and Technology, Carnegie Mellon University

Bill Seaman
Professor at Duke University; member of Duke Institute of Brain Sciences; researcher in Visual and Media Studies

Brian K. Smith
MS Program in Learning Technologies, Drexel University

Carol Strohecker
SEAD Co-PI; formerly Director, Center for Design Innovation, University of North Carolina system; currently Vice Provost, Academic Affairs, Rhode Island School of Design

Noah Wardrip-Fruin
Associate Professor, Computer Science; Co-Director, Expressive Intelligence Studio, Baskin School of Engineering; Director, Playable Media group; Digital Arts and New Media program; University of California Santa Cruz (UCSC).

Matt Wright
CREATE Research Director, Media Arts and Technology Graduate Program, University of California, Santa Barbara